Blogging Therapy

Remember

“Look inside yourself Simba,

You are more than

What you have become.

Remember Who You Are”

Ah, the Lion King. One of my favorite Disney movies as a child. Heck, I still cry when Mufasa dies… The above quote left a lasting impression on me. As a five-year old when the movie came out, it was quite possibly the eeriness of one’s deceased father returning for one last bout of wisdom; but as an adult, it strikes a much different kind of chord (I find that the Disney movies from that era held a lot of important messages… just take a look at the lyrics of “Colors of the Wind” from Pocahontas). I’ve touched on the subject in my last blog post, but I know I’m not the only person on this futile quest for Perfection.

In this world of consumerism, of perfect clothes, perfect hair, perfect makeup, perfect skin; do we take the time to reflect on who we truly are? We spend so much time trying to ressemble like everyone else; be doing the “it” thing… No. We don’t remember.

Even within Paganism/Witchcraft/Wicca/New Age… There’s this frenzied need to buy the latest book, get the coolest-looking-renn-fair-esque garb, wear so many darn crystals, and wards and charms at once you can barely walk ten bloody paces before passing out…

There is so much potential within the human psyche. So much intelligence, so much capacity for analysis, debate, and… psychic ability. There are so many things about the human mind we’ve yet to discover; so much that remains hidden away because of …stuff.

The best analogy for psychic power that I’ve ever read was that it was akin to a tunnel. The more we focus on the non-spiritual, the material… said stuff… the more cluttered the tunnel becomes, the less access we have to our psychic ability. Lord and Lady know, (well. My generation, anyway) we’re born with this need to acquire stuff. iPods, iPhones, iPads, and when we get them all, well, we throw them away to acquire the next bloody iGeneration. Stuff. 

This is what I’m struggling with at the moment. Learning to separate my true needs from my fleeting wants. I need to eat, I need to exercise, I need love, I need support, and I NEED HUGS! I don’t need a Samsung Galaxy blah blah blah six something or other. I want one, but I don’t need one.

I need to remember who I am, without this need to please & keep up with the Joneses. I’m learning, and I will succeed.

Look inside yourself.

You are more than what you have become.

Remember who you are.

Love & Light,

Jessy

1 thought on “Remember”

  1. Well said and oh so true. We have to really put things into perspective. Wants and needs have seemed to have merged over the years and it really is sad. From now on we should tell ourselves when out shopping “Do I NEED this?” 9 times out of 10 I betcha we’ll say “Nope!”

Tell me what you think!

