Journal Entries

Resolutions

What are your intentions for this new year?

How will you find the resolve to bring them into your manifest life?

Ech. Resolutions. Every year, for the past decade, has seen repetition, or some variation of, the same, tired resolutions that, come February (or March, If I’m particularly motivated that year), are forgotten or abandoned.

Meh. Next Year.

I think this week’s Pagan Experience prompt was worded marvelously: “How will you find the resolve”. Of course, I have a few resolutions this year, but I think I’ve realized how pointless it is for me to set a date, and BAM expect miracles to happen. Having a list, without having a plan, is just words on paper. It’s the planning that makes the execution happen.

I thought I’d do something a little different this year. It’s easy to write out the same resolutions I’ve been setting forth for years, and failing to keep them. So, without further ado, here is my list of realistic goals, along with their ever-recurring resolution counterparts:

Resolution 1. Quit Smoking

Ha! I believe this is the longest-running gag on my resolution list. I’ve succeeded a few times. Then summer rolls around. Then there’s a hot summer day, a cold beer on a terrace, and a cigarette in my mouth. I’m not going to lie; I like smoking. It’s part of who I am, my personality. It’s the cigarettes that I hate. So, rather that continuously fail at quitting smoking, I’m going to reduce the harm in it.

Realistic Goal 1. Quit Smoking Cigarettes

My Husband and I have recently gotten into pipe smoking. After some research, we have found that there are Surprising Benefits to Nicotine Use, and that Pipes and Cigars are not the villain… there are exponentially more harmful carcinogens in cigarettes than in pipe tobacco, as well as the fact that pipe smoke is not, generally, inhaled.  I’m a smoker. I have been for a long time. Maybe one day, I’ll quit it all. But for now, its more realistic for me to reduce the harm in smoking, rather than quitting completely.

And I look classy as f*ck with a pipe in my mouth.

Resolution 2. Stop Being a Hermit

As a general rule, outside of the inter-webs, I don’t like people. I really don’t. At my daughter’s last round of vaccines, the nurse (since I went through the whole she-bang of trying to nurse, pumping, bottle feeding, formula, and am now successfully breastfeeding), suggested I attend the monthly nursing group meetings.

Uh, no. I guarantee I will find every single one of those women either stupid, annoying, self-righteous, preachy, or any combination of those. Why? Because I’m so damn stressed and anxious when I’m slapped in a room with a bunch of people I don’t know, that I’ll sit there, and silently judge them, because I assume they’re ALL doing the same thing. Then I’ll walk out of there, thinking horrible things of all those women, and go back to being a hermit.

How can I be so sure? That’s how every single one of my excursion out of my hermit-hole has gone.

Realistic Goal 2. Go For Walks & Reach Out to Four People

Since Baby Wolf was born, I haven’t really left the house on my own, aside from groceries, and appointments. I do need to do that more. I’m a worrier by nature. Even though I know I have nothing to worry about, as Papa Wolf is more than capable of caring for her, I haven’t been able to leave, and go out by myself.

This year, I will start with short walks. Ten minutes, and work my way up.

As for the people portion, individual people aren’t as taxing on me. Its easier to open up and actually listen to what the person is saying when they aren’t part of a herd of strangers. So, this is my goal for 2015, four people for the whole year.

Realistic Goal 3.  Free My Heart From Hatred

There have been times in my life when a person, or situation has angered me to a point where anger has turned into a grudge. Grudges are not healthy. Every time we encounter a reminder of said grudge-inducing situation, we return to the negative emotions that we lived at that moment.

I need to learn that forgiving someone does not necessarily mean that I condone their actions, it simply means that I am releasing the anger and hatred from my own heart.

There are a few other, littler things that are day to day, and easily accomplished with a little perseverance. The ones listed here will require much work, but will render astounding benefits.

I CAN DO IT!

Good luck to everyone in maintaining your goals for 2015!

9 thoughts on “Resolutions”

  1. I once knew a pipe smoker and it was utterly fascinating watching the rituals he went through with his pipe. Clear the stem, knock the old ashes out, fill the bowl, hold it for a while, light and take one or two puffs, hold the bowl for a while, after a few minutes, light the bowl again and take another puff or two. He could go 10 – 15 minutes between filling and actually lighting the bowl that first time, and then between lighting after that first time. Once he had smoked it all down, he would start over again with the clearing, filling, holding, lighting.

    While I really dislike the smell of all cigarettes and most cigars, I rather enjoy the aroma from many blends of tobacco for pipe smoking.

    1. That’s a big part of the motivation to replace cigarettes with tobacco; the ritual. As a pagan, and as a kitchen witch, I find the whole process almost meditative. You get to have a real connection with your preferred pipe.

      And, you’re absolutely correct about the smell. My preferred blend, Peterson’s Connoiseur, leaves a lovely aroma, and makes me think of a kindly grandfather with his pipe in front of the fireplace.

      1. The description sounds lovely! I’m in Québec though, so shipping, duties, and taxes will likely be double the price of the tobacco (and that’s being optimistic). I’ll ask my neighbourhood tabagiste if he can order it for me!

  2. I think it’s fantastic that more and more I am seeing people make realistic goals for themselves! Resolutions just make us feel like failures, they tend to be too black and white, I prefer moderation with the occasional celebratory splurge lol.

    1. The fatest way to fail at a goal is to call it a resolution. There’s nothing magical about January first, so why set yourself up for failure by tacking a huge, insurmountable resolution on it?

Tell me what you think!

